Tag Archives: Dark Horse

HELLBOY DAY @ THE BEGUILING – w/ Tonci Zonjic, Lobster Johnson Artist (BOOK SALE UPDATE!!!)

toncizonjic

HELLBOY DAY @ THE BEGUILING
w/ Tonci Zonjic, Lobster Johnson Artist
Saturday, March 22nd. 2pm-4pm
@ The Beguiling, 601 Markham Street
FREE

https://www.facebook.com/events/587874404633938/

The Beguiling is proud to welcome Tonci Zonjic, artist of the Hellboy title LOBSTER JOHNSON, for a special signing at the store in honour of HELLBOY DAY, March 22nd!

Tonci Zonjic will be signing and sketching from 2pm-4pm on the second floor of The Beguiling. In honour of this event (and Hellboy Day!) we will be offering specials on Hellboy comics and graphic novels all day! See in-store for details.

Our thanks to Mr. Zonjic and Dark Horse Comics for helping set up this event!

DAMN(ED) HOT DEALS!

In honour of Hellboy Day, we’ve put some great Hellboy-related books on sale (plus one that’s similar but different). Get ready to save some money on your favourite new holiday!

  • Hellboy The Art of The Movie……….$2!!!
  • Assorted Hellboy Novels………………$2!!!
  • The Art of Sin City……………………….$3!!!
  • The Art of Hellboy……………………….$5!!!
  • Hellboy Vol. 1 Seed of Destruction….$5!!!

These deals are as hot as the fiery pits from whence Hellboy came.

Comments Off

Filed under Events

WEDNESDAY: CAMERON STEWART IN STORE!

Cameron Stewart signs SIN TITULO
Wednesday, October 23rd, 6pm-8pm
@ The Beguiling, 601 Markham Street
FREE

The Beguiling is proud to welcome Cameron Stewart back to Toronto, in support of his graphic novel SIN TITULO.

SIN TITULO is a dark noir crime fable originally serialized online, and now collected into a very handsome hardcover for the first time. Though it has a contemporary setting, we think this off-kilter thriller will appeal to fans of Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips’ FATALE, as well as fans of Cameron’s past work on series like SEAGUY, CATWOMAN, THE OTHER SIDE, and APOCALIPSTIX.

Cameron Stewart called Toronto home until a few years back, when he up and moved to Montreal and eventually to Berlin. We’re thrilled to see him return to North America for this tour, and we hope you’ll come out and pick up a copy of the book!

Comments Off

Filed under Events

EVENT: Gene Yang presents BOXERS & SAINTS

Gene Yang presents BOXERS & SAINTS
Saturday, September 21st, 3pm-4:30pm
@ The Central, 603 Markham Street
Free to attend

The Beguiling is proud to welcome bestselling comics author Gene Yang to Toronto in support of his new two-volume graphic novel, BOXERS & SAINTS.

Gene will be interviewed on stage by TCAF Director Christopher Butcher about his career and the genesis of the new graphic novel series, with a signing to follow. Copies of the new books and Yang’s entire back-catalogue will be available for sale at the event.

Gene Yang rose to prominence within the comics industry with the publication of his bestselling graphic novel American Born Chinese, which has won the Prinz Award, the Eisner Award, and multiple “best book of the year” awards. Yang’s follow-up releases have included The Eternal Smile, Prime Baby, Level Up, and writing the graphic novel adaptations of the Avatar: The Last Airbender series.

The Beguiling would like to thank Toronto Public Library, First Second Books, and Raincoast, for their assistance in putting this event together.

-  Chris @ The Beguiling

ABOUT BOXERS & SAINTS

In two volumes, Boxers & Saints tells two parallel stories. The first is of Little Bao, a Chinese peasant boy whose village is abused and plundered by Westerners claiming the role of missionaries. Little Bao, inspired by visions of the Chinese gods, joins a violent uprising against the Western interlopers. Against all odds, their grass-roots rebellion is successful.
But in the second volume, Yang lays out the opposite side of the conflict. A girl whose village has no place for her is taken in by Christian missionaries and finds, for the first time, a home with them. As the Boxer Rebellion gains momentum, Vibiana must decide whether to abandon her Christian friends or to commit herself fully to Christianity.
Boxers & Saints is one of the most ambitious graphic novels First Second has ever published. It offers a penetrating insight into not only one of the most controversial episodes of modern Chinese history, but into the very core of our human nature. Gene Luen Yang is rightly called a master of the comics form, and this book will cement that reputation.

Comments Off

Filed under Events

Beguiling Boxing Day Sale Phase 03: Marvel, DC, and More for a Buck!

Alright! The slightly-delayed conclusion to our Boxing Day sale begins Monday. Here’s the deal!

  1. Selected boxes of comics will be put on a special sale for one week at a time.
  2. These books will be discounted at 50% off of cover price to start with.
  3. On the first day of the sale (Monday), if you purchase 20 or more different issues from the sale box, all of the issues you buy become $1 each!
  4. Each day that the sale continues, the number of issues needed to get to the $1 level decreases. Tuesday & Wednesday: Buy 15 or more different issues and they’re a dollar each. Thursday and Friday, buy 10. Saturday and Sunday, buy 5.
  5. The whole thing starts over again on Monday with all new titles and publishers.

WEEK ONE: January 28th to February 3rd – MARVEL
WEEK TWO: February 4th to February 10th – IMAGE, DARK HORSE, MISC
WEEK THREE: February 11th to February 17th – DC

* Just to clarify, you need to purchase 20 different issues on that first day, and 20 copies of Dweezleman #1 doesn’t count. 1 copy each of Dweezleman #1 to 20 would count, and then you can buy as many of the number 1st as you want to at that point. If this is unclear we’ll explain it again in store.

Comments Off

Filed under General