APR 9: Brok Windsor 1944-1946 Official Launch Event @ Page & Panel

Brok Windsor: 1944-1946 Official Launch
With Kalman Andrasofszky, J. Bone, and Scott Chantler
Wednesday, April 8, 2015 @ 5pm
@ Page & Panel: The TCAF Shop, 789 Yonge Street
Free to attend

From one of the folks who brought you “Nelvana of the Northern Lights, the classic Canadian comics reprint, comes BROK WINDSOR: 1944-1946! Collecting all of Brok Windsor’s beautifully-illustrated adventures by Canadian cartoonist Jon Stables, BROK WINDSOR has been a Kickstarter sensation, and now’s your first chance to pick up the book!

Project editor Hope Nicholson will be on hand with the official debut of the book. Kickstarter supporters will be able to pick up the book at this event, and if you missed the Kickstarter? Don’t worry! We’ll have plenty of copies on hand for you too!

Artists Kalman Andrasofszky, J.Bone, Scott Chantler, and Leonard Kirk will be in attendance to sign your books!

The action takes place Wednesday, April 8th, at Page & Panel: The TCAF Shop, 789 Yonge Street. Free to attend, and all are welcome!

10415622_10155288541460447_3077456797960620367_n

ABOUT BROK WINDSOR:

Illustrated by Canadian artist Jon Stables and beginning serialization in 1944 in the pages of Maple Leaf Comics’ “Better Comics”, Brok Windsor was a doctor who discovered a secret land called Chaqua hiding in the midst of the Canadian wilderness during a normal canoeing trip. Here he was infected by the island and grew to the size of a giant, matching the height of the residents, a futuristic aboriginal tribe cut off from the rest of society. He spent months in this land battling man-eating lions, giant rats, and more bizarre oddities with the aid of his new friend Torgon. He even found a girlfriend, the giantess Starra who returned with him to Canada after several adventures.

“Not only is Brok Windsor some of the best work to come out of the golden age of Canadian comics; it is some of the most gorgeous comic art of any time. Believe me… you want to this project happen. The world will be a more beautiful place for you, me and everyone who appreciates comic art.” -Robert Pincombe, writer and comic historian

Kickstart Tribute art by Scott Chantler
Kickstart Tribute art by Scott Chantler

Jillian Tamaki launches SuperMutant Magic Academy Apr 28!

 

SMMA-toronto

SuperMutant Magic Academy Book Launch
with author Jillian Tamaki, interviewed by Anna Fitzpatrick
Tuesday, April 28th, 2015 @ 6:30pm
@ Revival Bar, 783 College Street
Free To Attend

Jillian Tamaki’s SuperMutant Magic Academy hits stores everywhere on Tuesday April 28th, and we are T-H-R-I-L-L-E-D to present the official launch-day event here in Toronto! Jillian Tamaki will be on hand, giving a talk about her work, reading from SuperMutant Magic Academy, and signing books. This is a great opportunity to ask vital questions about variant strains of Dungeons & Dragons, characters’ fates, transgressive performance art, and more.

Join us for this special event, where Jillian will present from the book and be interviewed on stage by Anna Fitzpatrick, writer for The Hairpin, Rookie, and more, at Revival Bar, 783 College Street (at Shaw).

SuperMutant Magic Academy will be on sale at the event. Jillian’s books (with writer Mariko Tamaki) ‘Skim’ and ‘This One Summer’ are available in store now!

About SuperMutant Magic Academy:
SuperMutant Magic Academy paints a teenage world that is moody and ennui-filled but also wry and irreverent: the SuperMutant Magic Academy is a prep-school for mutants and witches but their paranormal abilities take a back seat to everyday teen concerns. Wendy, Marsha, Cheddar, Frances, and the other students will be your guides through the D&D games, performance art, unrequited crushes, andspell class tests that are the staples of life at the Academy.

Special thanks to Drawn & Quarterly for helping us set up this event!

tumblr_m1i37xLwl41qf56dmo1_r1_1280

APRIL 28: Jillian Tamaki launches SUPERMUTANT MAGIC ACADEMY at The Beguiling!

 

SMMA-toronto

SuperMutant Magic Academy Book Launch
with author Jillian Tamaki, interviewed by Anna Fitzpatrick
Tuesday, April 28th, 2015 @ 6:30pm
@ Revival Bar, 783 College Street
Free To Attend

Jillian Tamaki’s SuperMutant Magic Academy hits stores everywhere on Tuesday April 28th, and we are T-H-R-I-L-L-E-D to present the official launch-day event here in Toronto! Jillian Tamaki will be on hand, giving a talk about her work, reading from SuperMutant Magic Academy, and signing books. This is a great opportunity to ask vital questions about variant strains of Dungeons & Dragons, characters’ fates, transgressive performance art, and more.

Join us for this special event, where Jillian will present from the book and be interviewed on stage by Anna Fitzpatrick, writer for The Hairpin, Rookie, and more, at Revival Bar, 783 College Street (at Shaw).

SuperMutant Magic Academy will be on sale at the event. Jillian’s books (with writer Mariko Tamaki) ‘Skim’ and ‘This One Summer’ are available in store now!

About SuperMutant Magic Academy:
SuperMutant Magic Academy paints a teenage world that is moody and ennui-filled but also wry and irreverent: the SuperMutant Magic Academy is a prep-school for mutants and witches but their paranormal abilities take a back seat to everyday teen concerns. Wendy, Marsha, Cheddar, Frances, and the other students will be your guides through the D&D games, performance art, unrequited crushes, andspell class tests that are the staples of life at the Academy.

Special thanks to Drawn & Quarterly for helping us set up this event!

tumblr_m1i37xLwl41qf56dmo1_r1_1280

TONIGHT! Jim Zub @ Page & Panel, 6pm-8pm!

DIG055137_1

Wayward Volume 1 Signing
With Jim Zub!
Wednesday, April 1st, 2015, 6pm-8pm
@ Page & Panel, 789 Yonge Street
FREE

We’re proud to welcome Jim Zub, author of Skullkickers, Figment, Pathfinder, Dungeons & Dragons, and so much more, to a special signing event for his new graphic novel WAYWARD!

Wayward Volume 1: String Theory, collects the first 5 issues of the Image Comics series into a handy trade paperback, for just $11.50! Featuring art by Steven Cummings, this Japanese-set urban fantasy series features a compelling story and beautiful artwork, with a very strong female lead! Perfect for fans of Buffy The Vampire Slayer or other Whedonverse books. UPDATE: Jim will be bringing a whole mess of his recent variants and other comics to the shop tomorrow! If you’re a fan, drop by!

In fact, Jim’s been writing up a storm lately! Just last week he had Skullkuckers #31, Wayward #6, Conan Red Sonja #3, Munchkin #1, and Samurai Jack #17 in stores, in addition to Wayward Volume 1! It’s, perhaps, a ZUBALANCHE of books!

Jim Zub will be on hand signing at Page & Panel: The TCAF Shop, from 6pm-8pm on Wednesday, April 1st. Lots of Zub’s comics and trades will be available at the event too! See you there!

Wednesday Night: Jim Zub signing at Page & Panel!

DIG055137_1

Wayward Volume 1 Signing
With Jim Zub!
Wednesday, April 1st, 2015, 6pm-8pm
@ Page & Panel, 789 Yonge Street
FREE

We’re proud to welcome Jim Zub, author of Skullkickers, Figment, Pathfinder, Dungeons & Dragons, and so much more, to a special signing event for his new graphic novel WAYWARD!

Wayward Volume 1: String Theory, collects the first 5 issues of the Image Comics series into a handy trade paperback, for just $11.50! Featuring art by Steven Cummings, this Japanese-set urban fantasy series features a compelling story and beautiful artwork, with a very strong female lead! Perfect for fans of Buffy The Vampire Slayer or other Whedonverse books. UPDATE: Jim will be bringing a whole mess of his recent variants and other comics to the shop tomorrow! If you’re a fan, drop by!

In fact, Jim’s been writing up a storm lately! Just last week he had Skullkuckers #31, Wayward #6, Conan Red Sonja #3, Munchkin #1, and Samurai Jack #17 in stores, in addition to Wayward Volume 1! It’s, perhaps, a ZUBALANCHE of books!

Jim Zub will be on hand signing at Page & Panel: The TCAF Shop, from 6pm-8pm on Wednesday, April 1st. Lots of Zub’s comics and trades will be available at the event too! See you there!

Monstrosity 2 Signing TONIGHT at Page & Panel: The TCAF Shop!

monstrositycolor-for-web

MONSTROSITY II: Launch Event & Signing
Featuring J. Bone, Matt Daley, Brian Enivou, Adam Gorham, Eric Kim, Jason Loo, Nimit Malavia, Phil McClorey, and Katie Shannahan!
TONIGHT! Wednesday, March 18th, 5pm-7pm
@ Page & Panel: The TCAF Shop, 789 Yonge St.
FREE

https://www.facebook.com/events/924401500991869/

Page & Panel: The TCAF Shop is proud to present a the launch and book signing event for MONSTROSITY II! Featuring nearly a dozen creators of this Toronto-centric anthology in attendance, this is going to be a spectacular book signing event!

Featuring Monstrosity II Creators In Attendance: J. Bone! Matt Daley! Brian Enivou! Adam Gorham! Eric Kim! Jason Loo! Nimit Malavia! Phil McClorey! and Katie Shannahan! PLUS! Noel Tuazon and Brian McLachlan have just been added…!

MONSTROSITY II is the follow up to last years indie anthology sensation. This volume continues the monster/horror theme of the original but this time adds a distinct sci-fi twist while holding onto all the things fans loved about the first book. Genetic abominations, robot gladiators, alien experimentation, intergalactic STD’s and a whole lot more!

Monstrosity II has over 20 heart stopping tales created by more then 40 of indie comic’s greatest young talents. Action, adventure, alien worlds, demons and devils, science fiction and fantasy all grace the pages of Monstrosity II!

So come by the all-new TCAF Shop on Wednesday March 18th, and check out this great new graphic anthology!

– Chris @ The Beguiling

Cover image by James Stokoe

MAR 16: Cecil Castellucci in Toronto!

Cecil Castellucci in Toronto!
Writer of Sensation Comics Feat. Wonder Woman, Plain Janes, Odd Duck, and More!
Monday, March 16th, 2015
11:00am @ Barbara Frum Librarary
20 Covington Road (Bathurst & Lawrence)

6:30pm @ Maria A. Shchuka Library
1745 Eglinton Avenue West (Eglinton & Davenport)

FREE!

JanesInLove (1)Our good friend Cecil Castellucci is visiting Toronto this Monday! Cecil will be on hand to talk about her new book Stone in the Sky, a sequel to her hit Tin Star. 

Cecil is also the author of many great comics and graphic novel projects, including The Plain Janes, Janes in Love, Geektastic, Odd Duck, Year of the Beasts, and is currently serializing a Wonder Woman story in Sensation Comics!

Cecil will be at two events, one at 11am, and one at 6:30pm, so we hope you can make it out to say hi!

– Chris @ The Beguiling